Galway Public Library, Library Board Meeting

Thursday, June 20, 2024

In attendance: Board of Trustees: Cate La Barre, Santina Florio, Jim Hodsoll, Jane Behrens, Kat McCleneghen, Stephanie Todd Payton; Library Director Deb Flint.

Absent: Sue Wemple

Meeting called to order by Cate La Barre at 6:37 p.m.

Public Comment

Minutes of Prior Meeting

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Kat McCleneghen, to accept the minutes of 5/15/24.

Vote: Yes 5, No 0 - Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Kat McCleneghen, to approve expenditures listed in the registers below:

BSNB General Checking - 5/14/24 - 5/24/24 BSNB General Checking - 5/25/24 - 6/7/24 BSNB General Checking - 6/8/24 - 6/21/24 Operating Grants - 5/25/24 - 6/7/24 Operating Grants - 6/8/24 - 6/21/24 VISA - 5/14/24 - 6/17/24 Receipts Log - 5/7/24 - 6/13/24

Vote: Yes 5, No 0 - Motion carried.

Board member joined meeting at 6:45 p.m.

Director's Report

Correspondence

Friends' Report

GPL Foundation Report

<u>Capital Funds Ad Hoc Committee Report</u>

Standing Committees

Buildings and Grounds Finance Personnel Long-Range Plan Public Relations

Unfinished Business

Galway Get Together

New Business

June 5, 2024 Election Results:

A total of 91 votes were cast. 25 were absentee ballot votes.

Motion: <u>Jane Behrens</u> Second: <u>Jim Hodsoll</u>

to accept the Proposition and Board Member Election results, which were as follows:

Shall the budget for the Galway Public Library for the fiscal year 2024-2025 be approved and the amount of \$246,085 be raised for such purpose by taxes levied on all the taxable real property within the Galway Central School District?

Yes Votes: 69 No Votes: 22 - PASSED

There were two vacancies on the Board of Trustees for two five-year terms of office effective July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2029. One seat was vacated by Catherine La Barre, whose term of office began on July 1, 2019 and will expire on June 30, 2024. The second seat was vacated by Stephanie Todd Payton who was appointed on September 20, 2023, to the seat vacated by Frederick Baily on August 31, 2023, who was elected and whose term of office began on July 1, 2019, and whose term ends on June 30, 2024. Catherine La Barre and Stephanie Todd Payton ran and were re-elected.

Catherine La Barre – 76 votes – ELECTED to 5-year term Stephanie Todd Payton - 78 votes – ELECTED to 5-year term

Write-In Candidates Votes: None - 0 votes

Voted aye to approve the motion: <u>6</u> Yes <u>0</u> No

Motion Passed: X Yes No

Oaths of Office for La Barre & Todd Payton

Nominating Committee Officers

Friends Discussion

Director Compensation Time

Motion by Jane Behrens, second by Stephanie Todd Payton, to approve establishing a compensation arrangement for the GPL Director position. It will provide 35 hours per fiscal year, to be taken quarterly, at no more than 9 hours per quarter. This arrangement will be re-evaluated in June 2025.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Director Vacation

Motion by Stephanie Todd Payton, second by Jane Behrens, to approve the Director's request for vacation days from 6/29/24 - 7/2/24.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Public Comment

Motion by Jim Hodsoll, second by Stephanie Todd Payton, to adjourn the meeting at 8:37 p.m.

Vote: Yes 6, No 0 - Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Santina Florio, Secretary